Octa's transportation blog

Yorba Linda Mayor Gene Hernandez Is OCTA’s New Chairman

Yorba Linda Mayor Gene Hernandez has been unanimously elected as the new Chairman of the OCTA Board of Directors. For the last year, he served as the OCTA board’s Vice Chairman and replaces outgoing Chairman Mark A. Murphy.

“I am honored for the opportunity to lead OCTA, an agency that cares deeply about the efficiency, safety and sustainability of Orange County’s transportation system,” said Chairman Hernandez. “As we move into the new year, we are eager to continue enhancing transportation countywide and I look forward to working with my colleagues to improve the quality of life for our county’s residents, workers and visitors.”

A third-generation Californian and a resident of Yorba Linda for more than 30 years, Chairman Hernandez retired as Chief of Police for the city of Chino. He worked in law enforcement for 34 years.

Chairman Hernandez was reappointed to the OCTA board in January 2022, representing Orange County’s Third District.

Director Tam Nguyen, a public member, was elected Vice Chairman. The president of Advance Beauty College and a part-time faculty member at California State University of Fullerton, he has served on the OCTA Board since 2021.

Newly appointed members of the OCTA board include Anaheim City Council Member Jose Diaz, Orange City Council Member Jon Dumitru, Dana Point Mayor Pro Tem Jamey Federico, Irvine Mayor Farrah N. Khan, and Santa Ana Mayor Pro Tem Jessie Lopez. Among the returning directors sworn in for new terms were Fourth District Supervisor Doug Chaffee, Fifth District Supervisor Katrina Foley, Fountain Valley City Council Member Patrick Harper, Fullerton Mayor Fred Jung, and Second District Supervisor Vicente Sarmiento.