Octa's transportation blog

Public Committee Update

OCTA has three standing citizens committees that are legislatively mandated and meet regularly, providing advice and input on OCTA’s activities. The following provides updates on the Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC), the Special Needs Advisory Committee (SNAC) and the Taxpayer Oversight Committee (TOC).

The CAC examines traffic solutions, providing input to OCTA’s transportation studies and communicating with constituencies. On July 20, 2021 CAC welcomed eight new members, including Adam Wood, Ben Chapman, Dale Soeffner, Daniel Soper, Jamey Frederico, Marie Laveaga, Meredith Chillemi and Pete Hardin.

Originally formed in 1992 in response to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the SNAC advises OCTA about issues related to OCTA fixed-route transit and paratransit services for customers with special transportation needs. On July 27, 2021 the committee added seven new members, including Scott Quinlan, John Ott, John Peat, Arturo Cazares, Richard King, Giovanna Lara and Pam Thompson. In addition, the committee collaborated with OCTA to adopt a new, more inclusive name. Effective immediately, the SNAC has refreshed its name to the Accessible Transit Advisory Committee (A-TAC).

The TOC is an independent committee formed after the passage of Measure M in 1990. The committee upholds the integrity of the measure by monitoring the use of OC Go (also known as Measure M) funds and ensuring that all revenue collected from OC Go is spent on voter-approved transportation projects. The TOC added three members and welcomed one returning member. They include Andrew Ramirez (District 1), Mark Kizzar (Returning, District 2), Ajay Khetani (District 4)  and Shannon O’Toole (District 5).